Advice on Guild Management Needed

Greetings DoD forum! This is my first time posting here, so I think I should introduce myself first. I also apologize for the probable wall of text that’s about to ensue.

My name is Alex Jones. I run a two night a week raid guild on the US-Draka server called . I have been playing wow since Dec. 2006, and raiding since Jan. 2008.

I started raid leading in the fall of 2011, in the months before Dragon Soul released. I ran the second raid team in a guild for the remainder of cata, and even managed to have my team surpass my guilds main team in progression by killing Heroic Madness a couple weeks before the main one. Halfway through t14 in mop, the main team was struggling, and began attempting to snipe some of my teams raiders. At that point we left and founded our own guild.

I have now been running my own guild since Jan. 2013, and we have had some steady progress I think. We just edged our nose into heroics in t14 and t15 (2/16 H in t14 and 3/13 H in t15) and have been able to dive fairly deep into the progression due to the extended time of this tier (10/14 H atm). When I mention this progression, I am talking about a 10man environment. Well, mostly.

My server is rather small, and top guilds have the tendency to leave the server once they reach 1st place. When we formed our own guild, sudden popularity spiked on the server in my guild, as we were a new face that didn’t totally suck as raiding. And me being a nice guy (sometimes too nice), I opened the floodgates for the masses to enter. I wanted to give everyone who wanted a chance to raid the opportunity to do so.